MEET YOUR 2023-24 EXECUTIVE



PRESIDENT / PRÉSIDENT

William (Bill) Whelan is a Professor of Physics at the University of Prince Edward Island. He completed a PhD in Medical Physics at McMaster University in 1996 and joined the faculty at the Toronto Metropolitan University that same year. After 12 years on faculty at TMU, he joined the University of Prince Edward Island in 2008 as a Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Biomedical Optics. His research is focused on the design and development of biomedical sensors, based on Raman, optoacoustic, and

near-infrared spectroscopy. He was Chair of the Department of Physics (2015-2021) and Chair of the Faculty of Science Research Committee. Bill has served on grant review panels for NSERC (Physics EG1505), the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute (Innovation/I2I Programs) and CIHR (Medical Physics and Imaging). Bill's participation in the CAP includes serving as Chair of the Division of Medical and Biological Physics (2001-03), Director of Communications (2006-09) and Chair of the CAP- NSERC Physics Liaison Committee (2014-17). He was also a member of the National Board of Directors of the Canadian Cancer Society (2010-12). Bill is actively involved in science outreach, including chairing the PEI Science Fair for 10 years and co-chairing the Canada-Wide Science Fair in 2012.



VICE-PRESIDENT / VICE-PRÉSIDENT

Martin Williams is a tenured faculty member in the Department of Physics at the University of Guelph and serves as the University's Director of Teaching and Learning. Martin's teaching has been recognized through several awards including the CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics and the University of Guelph's Distinguished Professor Award for Excellence in Teaching. Martin obtained his Ph.D. degree in experimental condensed matter physics from Imperial College,

University of London, UK. Martin has an active research programme with current interests in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning. Before arriving at Guelph, he worked as a postdoctoral fellow at Imperial College and University College London. He is a Chartered Physicist and member of the Institute of Physics UK and a past Chair of the Division of Physics Education of the Canadian Association of Physicists.

VICE-PRESIDENT / VICE-PRÉSIDENT ÉLU



Pierre Bénard's educational background includes a Ph.D. and undergraduate studies completed at the Université de Sherbrooke, as well as a Master's degree from the University of Toronto. He has focused his research and scholarly endeavors primarily on condensed matter theory, particularly in the area of high-temperature superconductivity. However, Pierre's interests have expanded to encompass applied physics, specifically working on materials and technologies relevant to the energy transition. From 2017 to 2023, Pierre served as the Director of the Hydrogen

Research Institute at the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, where he made significant contributions to the field. During his tenure, he successfully established a collaborative research unit with colleagues at INRS EMT in Varennes, concentrating on materials for the new energy transition. Furthermore, he played a key role in the creation of an innovation zone focused on technologies essential to the energy transition. Pierre's dedication extends beyond his research and academic pursuits. He aims to address the future and role of physics in Canadian society while considering the regional context and the challenges faced by smaller universities. With his comprehensive understanding of the discipline, Pierre seeks to bring valuable perspectives to the development of the Canadian Association of Physicists and advocate for the interests of physics within the broader scientific community.



PAST PRESIDENT / PRÉSIDENTE SORTANTE

Barbara Frisken is a Professor of Physics at Simon Fraser University. She completed her Ph.D. in physics at the University of British Columbia in 1989 and was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of California, Santa Barbara, before joining the faculty at SFU in 1992. Her research interests include structural studies of soft matter systems aimed at understanding relationships between microstructure and bulk properties; current projects focus on anion-conducting polymer membranes for fuel

cells. She served as Chair of her department from 2006-2011, during which time she led a team of 30 faculty members and also chaired search committees for staff and faculty and the department's salary and tenure review committee. She currently serves as Chair of her department's Undergraduate Curriculum Committee. She has chaired two university-wide committees: The University Curriculum Implementation Task Force (2004-2006) and the Teaching Assessment Working Group (2017-2019). Barbara's involvement in the CAP includes a term as Chair of the Division of Condensed Matter and Materials Physics (1997-1998), Chair of the Publications Committee (1999-2001), Chair of the Committee to Encourage Women in Physics (2002-2005), Director of Academic Affairs (2012-2015), and Co-Chair of the 2019 CAP Congress Local Organizing Committee.

2023-2024 CAP EXECUTIVE / ÉXÉCUTIF DE L'ACP 2023-2024



SECRETARY-TREASURER / SECRÉTAIRE-TRÉSORIÈRE

Christine Kraus is a SNOLAB research scientist, with adjunct positions at Laurentian University and Queen's University. Her research field is particle astrophysics. In 2004 she received her Ph.D. from the Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz, Germany for the final analysis of the Mainz Neutrino Mass experiment. From there she moved to Canada to pursue a postdoctoral fellowship on the famous SNO experiment at Queen's University. Since 2010, when she moved to Sudbury as a Canada Research

Chair, her main focus is the SNO+ experiment, which is now taking data. Prof. Kraus is a past advisory council member as well as a past PPD chair.



EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR / DIRECTRICE EXÉCUTIVE

Francine Ford, Canadian Association of Physicists