STUDENT COMPETITIONS 2023 COMPÉTITIONS ÉTUDIANTS

The CAP would like to thank and congratulate everyone who participated in this year's Best Student Presentation Competition, including 143 student competitors and the 35-member judging team, and to thank everyone who attended the talks and visited the posters. Your support and participation was vital to the success of the event.

As always, this year was met with a series of fantastic poster and oral presentations and all presenters should be proud of their hard-work and accomplishments!

CAP Overall Student Awardees who place 1st, 2nd, or 3rd are typically invited to submit an extended abstract for publication in PiC. This practice was paused in 2023 but this invitation has now been extended to the 2023 winners, and any contributions received will be published in a future issue.

CAP OVERALL STUDENT POSTER AWARDS

PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Janani Balasubramanian, University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Second	Lisa Rudolph, McGill University
Third	Brennan Cornell, Trent University
Honourable	(in alphabetical order) Dean Eaton (University of Waterloo), Mustafa Saeed
Mention	(University of New Brunswick), Yasaman Yousefi Sigari (University of
	Saskatchewan)

CAP OVERALL STUDENT ORAL PRESENTATION AWARDS

PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Timothy Blackmore, University of New Brunswick
Second	Defne Tanyer, University of Waterloo
Third	Sean Vanbergen, University of British Columbia
Honourable	(in alphabetical order) Jean-Marie Coquillat (Queen's University), Amaia Driollet
Mention	(Université de Montréal), Yasaman Heshmatzadeh (McMaster University), Rohith
	Kaiyum (York University), Everett Patterson (University of Waterloo)

CAP DIVISION STUDENT POSTER AWARDS

DIVISION OF APPLIED PHYSICS AND INSTRUMENTATION	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Yasaman Yousefi Sigari, University of Saskatchewan

CAP STUDENT COMPETITION PRIZES 2023 PRIX DES COMPÉTITIONS ÉTUDIANTES DE L'ACP

DIVISION OF ATOMIC, MOLECULAR AND OPTICAL PHYSICS CANADA	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Dean Eaton, University of Waterloo
First	Jocelyn Van der Veen, University of Toronto
Third	K Shalaby, University of New Brunswick

DIVISION OF CONDENSED MATTER AND MATERIAL PHYSICS	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Brennan Cornell, Trent University

DIVISION OF GENDER EQUITY IN PHYSICS	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Janani Balasubramanian, University of Ontario Institute of Technology

DIVISION OF NUCLEAR PHYSICS	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Louis Croquette, McGill University
Second	Jayani Dissanayake, University of Guelph

DIVISION OF PHYSICS IN MEDICINE AND BIOLOGY	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Janani Balasubramanian, University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Second	Nishel Alexander, University of Prince Edward Island

DIVISION OF PLASMA PHYSICS	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Jeremy Talbot-Pacquet, Queen's University

DIVISION OF THEORETICAL PHYSICS	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Mustafa Saeed, University of New Brunswick

PARTICLE PHYSICS DIVISION	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Lisa Rudolph, McGill University

CAP DIVISION STUDENT ORAL PRESENTATION AWARDS

DIVISION OF APPLIED PHYSICS AND INSTRUMENTATION	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Defne Tanyer, University of Waterloo
Second	Bryce Norman, Carleton University

DIVISION OF ATMOSPHERIC AND SPACE PHYSICS	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Sneha Susan Babu, University of Alberta
Second	Vadym Bidula, McGill University
Thrid	Pouya Pourkarim, University of Calgary

DIVISION OF ATOMIC, MOLECULAR AND OPTICAL PHYSICS, CANADA	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Timothy Blackmore, University of New Brunswick
Second	Nicholas Caron, University of New Brunswick
Thrid	Varsha Varsha, Lakehead University

DIVISION OF CONDENSED MATTER AND MATERIAL PHYSICS	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Yasaman Heshmatzadeh, McMaster University
Second	Leo Goutte, McGill University

DIVISION OF PHYSICS EDUCATION	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Eamonn Corrigan, University of Guelph
Second	Victoria Arbour, University of Guelph

DIVISION OF PHYSICS IN MEDICINE AND BIOLOGY	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Rohith Kaiyum, York University
Second	Coral Hillel, York University
Third	Jerit Mitchell, University of Regina

CAP STUDENT COMPETITION PRIZES 2023 PRIX DES COMPÉTITIONS ÉTUDIANTES DE L'ACP

DIVISION OF NUCLEAR PHYSICS	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Lilianna Hariasz, Queen's University
Second	Sean Vanbergen, University of British Columbia
Third	Brynne Blaikie, University of Manitoba

DIVISION OF PLASMA PHYSICS	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Amaia Driollet, Université de Montréal
Second	Jean-Baptiste Billeau, Ecole Polytechnique de Montréal

DIVISION OF THEORETICAL PHYSICS	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Everett Patterson, University of Waterloo
Second	Xiyuan Li, Western University
Third	Sarah Muth, Memorial University of Newfoundland

PARTICLE PHYSICS DIVISION	
PLACEMENT	NAME/AFFILIATION
First	Jean-Marie Coquillat, Queen's University
Second	Mark Anderson, Queen's University
Third	Braeden Veenstra, University of Alberta