MEET YOUR 2021-22 EXECUTIVE / RENCONTREZ VOTRE EXÉCUTIF 2021-22



PRESIDENT / PRÉSIDENT

Manu Paranjape was born in Liverpool, UK, he did not live there too long, and grew up in Edmonton, Alberta. As a high school student, he won the Alberta wide high school exam in mathematics. He received his BSc (Honours) and MSc from the University of Alberta. His MSc supervisor was Yasushi Takahashi, of the Ward-Takahashi identities. His thesis was on the field theory of hydrodynamics. He then

went to MIT, in Cambridge, Massachusetts to pursue his PhD, which he did under the supervision of Jeffrey Goldstone, well known of course for the discovery of the Goldstone boson. After his PhD, he spent 9 months at UBC as a postdoc under the guidance of Gordon Semenoff followed by two years as a postdoc at the ETH (Eidgenössiche Technische Hochschule) in Zürich, under the guidance of Christoph Schmid. After this, in October of 1986, he came to the Université de Montréal, as a chercheur adjoint (a position equivalent to assistant professor), officially an Attaché de Recherche du CRSNG. He obtained tenure and eventually promotion to full professor by 2002. He is currently a Professor with the Department of Physics at the Université of Montréal.

He has been active in many CAP related activities, serving as co-chair and then chair of the Division of Theoretical Physics for four years. During this time, he founded of the series of meetings, Theory CANADA, which are now in their 14th session. Since then, he was co-chair of the local organizing committee of the Annual Congress of the Canadian Association of Physicists that was held in Montreal in 2013, and he has been a member of the IUPAP committee for mathematical physics, and a member of the CNILC (Canadian National IUPAP Liaison Committee) for the past two years. Most recently, he has been involved with the accession of Canada into the Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics, and he is the council member for Canada.



VICE PRESIDENT / VICE-PRÉSIDENTE

Barbara Frisken is a Professor of Physics at Simon Fraser University. She completed her Ph.D. in physics at the University of British Columbia in 1989 and was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of California, Santa Barbara, before joining the faculty at SFU in 1992. Her research interests include structural studies of soft matter systems aimed at understanding relationships between microstructure and bulk properties; current

projects focus on anion-conducting polymer membranes for fuel cells. She served as Chair of her department from 2006-2011, during which time she led a team of 30 faculty members and also chaired search committees for staff and faculty and the department's salary and tenure review committee. She currently serves as Chair of her department's Undergraduate Curriculum Committee. She has chaired two university-wide committees: The University Curriculum Implementation Task Force (2004-2006)

and the Teaching Assessment Working Group (2017-2019). Barbara's involvement in the CAP includes a term as Chair of the Division of Condensed Matter and Materials Physics (1997-1998), Chair of the Publications Committee (1999-2001), Chair of the Committee to Encourage Women in Physics (2002-2005), Director of Academic Affairs (2012-2015), and Co-Chair of the 2019 CAP Congress Local Organizing Committee.



VICE-PRESIDENT ELECT / VICE-PRÉSIDENT ÉLU

William (Bill) Whelan is a Professor of Physics at the University of Prince Edward Island. He completed a PhD in Medical Physics at McMaster University in 1996 and joined the faculty at the Toronto Metropolitan University that same year. After 12 years on faculty at TMU, he joined the University of Prince Edward Island in 2008 as a Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Biomedical Optics. His research is focused on the

design and development of biomedical sensors, based on Raman, optoacoustic, and near-infrared spectroscopy. He was Chair of the Department of Physics (2015-2021) and Chair of the Faculty of Science Research Committee. Bill has served on grant review panels for NSERC (Physics EG1505), the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute (Innovation/I2I Programs) and CIHR (Medical Physics and Imaging). Bill's participation in the CAP includes serving as Chair of the Division of Medical and Biological Physics (2001-03), Director of Communications (2006-09) and Chair of the CAP- NSERC Physics Liaison Committee (2014-17). He was also a member of the National Board of Directors of the Canadian Cancer Society (2010-12). Bill is actively involved in science outreach, including chairing the PEI Science Fair for 10 years and co-chairing the Canada-Wide Science Fair in 2012.



PAST PRESIDENT / PRÉSIDENT SORTANT

Rob Thompson is a Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy (PHAS) in Calgary. He completed his BSc (Physics) at UBC, PhD (Laser Physics) at UToronto, and post-doctoral positions at theMax -Planck-Institut fur Quantenoptik and Rice University. He leads Calgary's Trapping of Atoms, Molecules, and Exotic Species research group and has membership in the ALPHA and TITAN Collaborations. He has

been PI or Co-PI on a sequence of NSERC Discovery, SAP-Project, and RTI Grants, and is PI for the ALPHA-g CFI Grant. He was co-recipient of the 2013 NSERC John Polanyi Award for studies of antihydrogen. He is an award-winning teacher, having received the 2007 CAP Medal for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching and multiple institutional cognitions. He has worked in pedagogical development, leading the group that developed labatorials at UCalgary. As an academic leader, he served as Head, Undergraduate Program Director, and Graduate Program Director of PHAS in Calgary, on the Board of Governors for UCalgary, and currently on the Boards of TRIUMF and ACURA. He has extensive experience working with CAP as Director of Student Affairs, Chair of DPE, Secretary-Treasurer of DAMP/DAMPHi/ DAMOPC, PiC Editorial Board member, and member of the Award for Excellence in Teaching High-school/CEGEP Physics Committees.

2021-2022 CAP EXECUTIVE / EXECUTIF DE L'ACP 2021-2022



SECRETARY-TREASURER / SECRÉTAIRE-TRÉSORIER

Christine Kraus is a professor in the Department of Physics at Laurentian University. Her research field is particle astrophysics, where she takes advantage of the having SNOLAB around the corner. In 2004 she received her Ph.D. from the Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz, Germany for the final analysis of the Mainz Neutrino Mass experiment. From there she moved to Canada to pursue a postdoctoral

fellowship on the famous SNO experiment at Queen's University. Since 2010, when she moved to Sudbury as a Canada Research Chair, her main focus is the SNO+ experiment, which is now taking data. Prof. Kraus is a past advisory council member as well as a past PPD chair.